28 senators impeach Waititu in Kieleweke-Tangatanga battle in Senate

Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu has been impeached.

Senators approved all the three charges that formed the basis for Waititu’s impeachment by the County Assembly.

The first charge was gross violation of the Constitution, Public Finance Management Act and PPD Act. On this charge, 26 senators voted for it, while 12 voted in the governor’s favour.

And for the second charge, 28 senators upheld the charge, while 11 voted to drop it. In the last charge, 27 voted to uphold the charge, while 11 voted against it.

Waititu had protested his impeachment saying it was based on propaganda.

The impeachment motion also brought to the fore split in the party. Most of Waititu’s defence came from the Tangatanga camp, allied to Deputy President William Ruto. Waititu is an ally of Ruto.

The Kieleweke team, which is pro-President Uhuru Kenyatta and the handshake with Raila Odinga joined with ODM MPs to impeach Waititu.

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

The Brief will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.